Do at-home lasers work? What the evidence shows
Short answer
Cutis Lux summarises 11 studies relevant to at-home skin lasers: one with a sham, untreated or inactive control, two comparing two active treatments without an inactive control, four with no control group and four reviews. The evidence differs by technology. Non-ablative fractional lasers have the most, including a 124-person home-device trial without a control group. Non-fractional 1450 nm evidence comes from two small clinic studies with mixed results. For low-level lasers, the evidence is photobiomodulation research, mainly reviews.
Non-ablative fractional laser evidence
Non-ablative fractional laser devices here: MimiSilk Iris and Tria FRX.
- How safe are 1440 nm non-ablative fractional lasers, including on darker skin? Literature review · 2025
This 2025 review of clinical studies on a 1440/1927 nm non-ablative fractional diode laser found expected reactions such as redness, swelling and crusting were mild to moderate and resolved on their own. Discomfort and heat were mild, no serious adverse events were reported, and safety was also shown in patients with skin of colour. - Fractional lasers for the eye area worked better after 45 Randomised split-face trial · 2025
In this randomised split-face trial, 18 Asian patients had three 1550 nm and 1565 nm non-ablative fractional laser treatments around the eyes. People aged 45 and over improved significantly; people under 45 did not. The two wavelengths performed the same, and side effects were limited and short-lived. - What happens when sensitive skin meets a home fractional laser? Clinical study, sensitive vs non-sensitive skin · 2016
Researchers applied a home-use fractional non-ablative laser to people with self-reported sensitive and non-sensitive skin and examined the skin for 72 hours. People with sensitive skin reported discomfort more often, but the measured skin damage was mild and nearly equal in both groups, with signs of new skin-cell growth around each treated zone. - Does skincare change what a home fractional laser does? Randomised, evaluator-blinded, split-face · 2016
In a 49-person split-face trial, every participant used a home non-ablative fractional diode laser on the whole face for 12 weeks, but applied an antioxidant regimen to one side only. The combination side improved on all photodamage measures, and the authors report the products enhanced and prolonged the laser’s benefits. - Home laser and light devices: what dermatologists found in the evidence Literature and FDA database review · 2015
This review of home-use laser and light devices, including an FDA database search, found the most published data for IPL hair removal and LED acne treatment. Results were modest, and the authors note a lack of randomised double-blind controlled trials; most support comes from small, uncontrolled, industry-sponsored single-centre studies. - Can people safely use a fractional laser at home? A 124-person trial Multicentre trial, no control group · 2012
In this multicentre trial, 124 people treated their own eye-area wrinkles with a handheld non-ablative fractional laser, following written instructions. Blinded physicians reviewing photos rated wrinkles one grade better in 90% of people after daily treatment and 79% after maintenance. The main side effect was short-lived redness. There was no control group. - Fractional photothermolysis: the 2004 study behind every fractional laser Prototype clinical study · 2004
This 2004 study introduced fractional photothermolysis: instead of heating the whole skin surface, a 1.5 µm laser makes a grid of microscopic heat zones about 0.1 mm wide. Skin around each zone heals it within a day. Eye-area wrinkle scores improved 18% three months after four treatments, with minimal redness or swelling.
Non-fractional diode laser evidence
Non-fractional diode laser devices here: NIRA Pro 3.
- Home laser and light devices: what dermatologists found in the evidence Literature and FDA database review · 2015
This review of home-use laser and light devices, including an FDA database search, found the most published data for IPL hair removal and LED acne treatment. Results were modest, and the authors note a lack of randomised double-blind controlled trials; most support comes from small, uncontrolled, industry-sponsored single-centre studies. - Patients liked the result; only 2 of 25 dermatologists rated it better Blinded photo evaluation · 2004
Nine people had three 1450 nm diode laser treatments for eye-area wrinkles and all reported mild to moderate improvement. But when 25 independent dermatologists judged before-and-after photos, only two rated the results as significantly better. The authors conclude non-ablative laser treatment satisfies patients but does not convince objective judgement. - Is it the 1450 nm laser or just the cooling? A split-face test Split-face comparison · 2002
Twenty people had one side of the face treated with a 1450 nm diode laser plus cooling spray and the other side with cooling alone. Six months after 2–4 treatments, 13 of 20 showed improvement on the laser side and none on the cooling-only side, suggesting the effect came from the laser itself.
Low-level (“cold”) laser evidence
Low-level (“cold”) laser devices here: LYMA Laser and LYMA Laser PRO.
- Red and near-infrared light and cancer risk: what a systematic review found Systematic review · 2023
This systematic review examined whether red and near-infrared light for skin rejuvenation could encourage cancer. In lab studies the light mainly helped healthy cells grow and reduced or did not affect cancer cells; no clinical trial linked it to new or recurrent cancer. The author concludes it is oncologically safe within established parameters. - Low-level light therapy: a reasonable evidence base, with gaps Review · 2021
This review of low-level light therapy found a reasonable body of trial evidence that low-energy red and near-infrared light is safe and effective for skin rejuvenation and acne. It also flags small studies, methodological flaws and industry funding, and says it is unclear whether LED sources work as well as the lasers used in most higher-quality studies. - Home laser and light devices: what dermatologists found in the evidence Literature and FDA database review · 2015
This review of home-use laser and light devices, including an FDA database search, found the most published data for IPL hair removal and LED acne treatment. Results were modest, and the authors note a lack of randomised double-blind controlled trials; most support comes from small, uncontrolled, industry-sponsored single-centre studies.
All 11 studies at a glance
Newest first. “Control” says what the treated group was compared with; studies with no control group cannot separate the treatment’s effect from placebo or natural change.
| Study | Design and people | Control | Dose reported | Main finding | Main limitation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| How safe are 1440 nm non-ablative fractional lasers, including on darker skin? 2025 · PubMed 41229184 | Literature review; Review of published studies | Review | Not reported in the abstract | Redness, swelling and crusting were mild to moderate and self-limited. | Narrative review of one clinic laser system, not home devices. |
| Fractional lasers for the eye area worked better after 45 2025 · PubMed 40064643 | Randomised split-face trial; 18 | Two lasers compared split-face; no untreated control | Not reported in the abstract | Significant improvement in the 45-and-over group; no significant improvement under 45. | Small sample of 18. |
| Red and near-infrared light and cancer risk: what a systematic review found 2023 · PubMed 36722207 | Systematic review; Clinical and preclinical studies | Systematic review | Not reported in the abstract | Healthy cells mainly proliferated; cancer cells mainly showed reduced or unchanged growth. | Animal tumour models gave mixed results. |
| Low-level light therapy: a reasonable evidence base, with gaps 2021 · PubMed 33471046 | Review; Review of clinical literature | Review | Not reported in the abstract | A reasonable body of trial evidence supports red/near-infrared light for skin rejuvenation and acne. | Narrative review, not a meta-analysis. |
| What happens when sensitive skin meets a home fractional laser? 2016 · PubMed 26875629 | Clinical study, sensitive vs non-sensitive skin; Not stated in abstract | No untreated control; compares sensitive with non-sensitive skin | Not reported in the abstract | People with sensitive skin reported discomfort more often. | Short follow-up of 72 hours; no long-term or cosmetic outcomes. |
| Does skincare change what a home fractional laser does? 2016 · PubMed 26727154 | Randomised, evaluator-blinded, split-face; 49 | Split-face: laser on both sides, antioxidants on one; no laser-free control | Not reported in the abstract | Laser plus antioxidants improved all photodamage measures evaluated. | The abstract does not give effect sizes for laser alone versus combination. |
| Home laser and light devices: what dermatologists found in the evidence 2015 · PubMed 25705949 | Literature and FDA database review; Review | Review | Not reported in the abstract | IPL for hair removal and LED for acne have the most published data. | Published in 2015; several devices here are newer. |
| Can people safely use a fractional laser at home? A 124-person trial 2012 · PubMed 22386051 | Multicentre trial, no control group; 124 completed | No control group | Not reported in the abstract | All 124 people who finished could use the device from written instructions. | No control group, which the authors list as a limitation. |
| Fractional photothermolysis: the 2004 study behind every fractional laser 2004 · PubMed 15216537 | Prototype clinical study; 45 (15 forearm, 30 periorbital) | No control group for eye-area treatments | Not reported in the abstract | Typical zones were 100 µm wide and reached 300 µm deep. | Prototype clinic devices, not today’s home lasers, which use lower energy. |
| Patients liked the result; only 2 of 25 dermatologists rated it better 2004 · PubMed 15149506 | Blinded photo evaluation; 9 patients, 25 dermatologist raters | No control group; blinded photo raters | Not reported in the abstract | All patients were satisfied and reported mild to moderate improvement. | Very small sample of nine patients. |
| Is it the 1450 nm laser or just the cooling? A split-face test 2002 · PubMed 11870784 | Split-face comparison; 20 | Split-face: cooling-only control side | Not reported in the abstract | 13 of 20 people improved on the laser side. | Clinic device at clinic energy, not a home laser. |
Dose: what studies used and what devices can deliver
Dose (fluence) is irradiance multiplied by time, in J/cm². It applies to non-heating light such as LED and low-level laser. None of the studies here reports a dose in its abstract.
| Device | Published figures used | Estimated dose per session |
|---|---|---|
| LYMA Laser | 500 mW ÷ 8 cm² lens ≈ 62.5 mW/cm², × 3 min per area | About 11.3 J/cm² |
| LYMA Laser PRO | 1450 mW ÷ 30 cm² lens ≈ 48.3 mW/cm², × 3-min treatment cycle | About 8.7 J/cm² |
Only two of the five home lasers publish enough to estimate a dose. No estimate is possible for MimiSilk Iris, NIRA Pro 3 and Tria FRX, because their checked pages do not publish output energy.
Estimates are ours, not the brand’s. They assume the published irradiance reaches the skin evenly for the whole session; brands do not say how irradiance was measured. A similar dose does not show a device produces a study’s results.
What the evidence cannot tell you
- Most laser studies here tested clinic devices at higher energy than home lasers deliver.
- The largest home-device trial (124 people) had no control group.
- No study here tested a home non-fractional or home low-level laser directly.
- Low-level laser evidence relies on photobiomodulation reviews written by LYMA’s scientific lead; weigh this when judging LYMA claims.
- Abstracts often omit device brand, wavelength or energy.
Home laser safety · All home lasers compared · All research
Not medical advice. Summaries are based on the published abstracts linked above.